A Day in the Life: Q+A with Amber Mabry

57 DSC04584

Hello! My name is Amber! I’m a wife and mother of 2. I’m a Graphic Designer and creative visionary who enjoys exploring life on my own terms and working with people of purpose.

I grew up in Columbus, Ohio with 3 siblings and amazing parents. I’ve always been an ambitious person who enjoys trying new things. For example, during my senior year of high school I starred in a Debutante Cotillion, joined my school’s Varsity Cheerleading team and won Prom Queen (all while maintaining honor roll status). Next, I graduated from Columbus College of Art & Design in 2009 with a BFA in Advertising & Graphic Design.

42 DSC04528 scaled

As an adult, my creative, outgoing “can do” outlook on life has led me down a great path towards happiness.

I currently live in Canal Winchester and run my own business A Payne’s Designs (helping small businesses and nonprofits with their graphic design and marketing needs).

I also build online communities! I guess you can call me “the gatherer”

The first one was started in 2020 called Marriage Real Talk and currently has close to 900 members. This group is focused on helping people who are single, married, separated, divorced or widowed share, relate and grow in their relationship journey. My new female-focused group is called Vision Defined Women where I use my personal and professional skills to empower and equip women with accountability and practical tools to make their personal, wellness, organizational and business-focused visions a reality.

I really enjoy gathering, socializing and uniting people.

24 DSC04433 scaled

Morning:

My morning routine is one very common to “moms in a pandemic.” After a few moments to myself (if I’m lucky enough to wake up before my littles) I like to sit on my porch and take in the new day. Gratitude, deep breathing and/or meditating over a few scriptures relaxes and charges my mind and body.

Once the kids wake, I’m turning on Fred Hammond “This is the Day” or a kid friendly affirmation jingle to set a positive upbeat mood in our home. I also like to listen to Eric Thomas, Les Brown, Dani Johnson or some other high-energy motivational speaker. Next, I’m nursing, making breakfast and getting organized for the day! Saying “Off Off we Gooo”

For breakfast I’m eating avocado toast, oatmeal with fruit, granola or cereal unless its Waffle day! (which my son, Camden loves!)

Afternoon:

In the afternoon, I’m catching up on emails or meetings. O and catching a few kiddie cuddles in between too!

I really enjoy working from home and have been for over 7 years. Although some days are hectic because there’s no middle line to where work ends…and “home” work begins, I’m grateful for the opportunity to make a living while being present with my family. And thank God for Instacart too! It’s a great combination for this mompreneur haha

84 DSC04655 scaled

Evening:

Social time!! I enjoy connecting with old friends and making new ones. In the time we live in everything is pretty virtual (thanks to COVID-19 pandemic) but I’m making the best of it! I’m not much of a TV watcher…but I do enjoy scrolling through social media making connections or watching inspirational reels. My businesses and community groups THRIVE on collaborations so I try to be intentional to seek like minds whom I can serve.

For fun, I like trying new HelloFresh! recipes or shopping in my personal online wellness store.

A few favorite things I like to do include: making tents and laying in them with my kids, eating Red Vines or BIG Marshmallows (reminds me of childhood), dreaming about heaven, making online videos and taking nice walks! Yep, I’m a random creative…and I love the skin I’m in.